Can I cut it?

Kitchen Aid Santuko KnifeAny good cook worth her salt has a love affair with knives.  Dad, as a butcher, treated his knives reverently. And I learned at an early age how important a really sharp knife was, as I watched him use the sharpening steel before carving a roast.

Through the years, I’ve had my favorites.  My Wusthof knives held that place for a very long time.  And I still really like them.  I have an inexpensive boning knife that is lethally sharp, and glides through tomatoes, fish and more.  It’s a pleasure to use.

But lately, my devotion has been to my Kitchen Aid Santoku knife that I picked up on sale at Linens n Things just before they closed.  It’s a 7 inch knife with a pink silicone handle (an extra bonus, Kitchen Aid donated 10% of the retail price to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.)  I love the comfort of the silicone handle…it’s soft and non-slip.  It has a nice heft, and both the weight and the shape make this knife user-friendly.  I use it for everything!  Chopping vegetables, slicing tomatoes, carving a chicken.

What I like about the Santoku knife is it cuts like a knife, but can also chop like a cleaver, and with it’s relatively wide blade, also can scoop the onions I just diced right into the pan.

I think it’s time to add some more sizes of Santoku knife to my (ever-) growing collection.

Santoku Knife on Foodista

3 responses to “Can I cut it?

  1. Congrats on the foodie blogroll!

  2. I’ve really enjoyed reading through your posts and I’d really love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  3. when I moved out of my last apartment, I forgot to go through one of the drawers in my kitchen and forgot both my small and large pink kitchen aid santokus, along with all my silverware…that was about 6 months ago and I’m still heartbroken over the loss of my knives 😦

Leave a Reply

