Who knew…I’m a Flexitarian!

It seems that my education in healthy/almost vegetarian eating has quite a way to go!  Apparently I’m not a wannabe part-time vegetarian, I’m a Flexitarian!  According to Wikipedia a flexitarian is someone who follows “a semi-vegetarian diet focusing on vegetarian food with occasional meat consumption. A self-described flexitarian seeks to decrease meat consumption without eliminating it entirely from his or her diet. There are no guidelines for how much or how little meat one must eat before being classified a flexitarian. Flexitarian is distinguished from polpescetarian, i.e., one who eats only chicken and fish, but does so exclusively.”

Of course, in searching further, I found vegan/vegetarians who scoff…no more so–they mock…at flexitarians.  And even among flexitarians, while some have an “anything goes” attitude, there’s a faction (according to Maura Judkis who writes for US Magazine and Audobon magazine) of “climate-change flexitarians” who aim for no more than 3.1 ounces of meat per day, no more than half of that being red meat.  But for the most part, it seems that most flexitarians try to limit their carnivorian adventures to eating out, or the occasional at-home meal.  That makes sense to me!

Not to digress (but indeed I will) I seem to be changing my cooking habits altogether.  This foray into eating healthier  (and the fact that it’s getting colder here in New Jersey) has led me to cooking big pots of soup and to experimenting with ingredients I haven’t cooked with before.

The other night I made a big pot of flexitarian chicken soup (there…now there’s a connection to my topic.)  What to do with all that boiled chicken?  I deboned and shredded it, and decided to make chicken croquettes.  They were delicious and I’ll post the recipe later.  I also prepared a creamy chicken and corn chowder.  And made my first loaves of French bread.  They were pretty good (not great…I’m working on it.) and I turned one loaf into a delicious Panzanella bread salad (I’ll post that recipe too…yumm!)

Today on my foray out to Whole Foods, they finally had Garbanzo flour back in stock, so of course, I bought some, mainly because I remember these fabulous garbanzo patties my chef friend Laura made (I have to get that recipe.)  I think I’ll experiment with it tomorrow.

One response to “Who knew…I’m a Flexitarian!

  1. Welcome to the life. I don’t scoff; I just try to eat less meat and more vegetables. And, you know, I feel better in every sense of the word.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

