A Vegetarian by any name….

[picapp src=”7/7/9/8/Veg_with_Edge_619f.jpg?adImageId=5071908&imageId=5607566″ width=”500″ height=”362″ /]I have been reading and having conversations with people about what constitutes being a vegetarian.  Not surprisingly, while there is a definition of vegetarian, there are all kinds of variations.

Strictly speaking, vegetarianism is the practice of following a diet based on plant-based foods including fruits, vegetables, cereal grains, nuts, and seeds.  But there are vegetarians who eat no dairy products or eggs, and those that do include these in their diet.  According to my readings, lacto-ovo-vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian in the U.S.

But like the old joke, put two vegetarians in a room and get three different definitions of what that means.

Vegans are vegetarians that eat ONLY plant-based foods.  Some go so far as to even avoid honey, choosing instead maple syrup or agave.   And to take it a step further, there are raw-food Vegans, wo don’t cook their foods at all, choosing instead to eat all their food uncooked.

Ovo vegetarians, while they don’t eat dairy products, do include eggs.

Lacto vegetarians, include dairy products, but no eggs or other animal proteins.

Pesca vegetarians eat plant based foods, eggs, dairy foods plus fish and shellfish.

Pollo vegetarians eat plant based foods, eggs, dairy foods, plus poultry.  Some eat fish as well, many don’t.

I guess, at least for now, that makes me a pesca-pollo-lacto-ovo semi-vegetarian (almost.)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s